UA College of Engineeering

Jeff Gray, Ph.D.

University of Alabama
Department of Computer Science
Box 870290
Tuscaloosa, AL  35487-0290

Office: 3447 SEC
(Science and Engineering Complex)
Phone: 205-348-2847  
Fax: 205-348-0219

Maps and photos:SEC


Outreach Events


Academic Biography

Dr. Jeff Gray is a Professor (Full) in the Department of Computer Science at the University of Alabama (UA) and the Director of the Randall Research Scholars Program. He is a National Science Foundation CAREER award recipient and was named the Professor of the Year (Alabama, 2008) by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. Jeff is a Distinguished Member of the ACM and was selected into the inaugural class of the IEEE Computer Society Distinguished Contoributors. He currently serves as the chair of the Alabama IEEE Computer Society. Dr. Gray also serves on the Development Commitee for the College Board's AP CS Principles course. Jeff is co-chair of Alabama Governor Kay Ivey's Computer Science Advisory Council. He was a past member of the Education Advisory Council of

Dr. Gray received a Ph.D. in Computer Science in May of 2002 from the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tennessee. While at Vanderbilt, Jeff was a research assistant at the Institute for Software Integrated Systems, where he worked on the DARPA Program Composition for Embedded Systems (PCES) project. He also worked on a tool integration project at ISIS that was funded by Boeing. Jeff's thesis advisor was Dr. Steve Schach, and his dissertation committee members were Dr. Janos Sztipanovits, Dr. Gabor Karsai, Dr. Larry Dowdy, Dr. Mike Fitzpatrick, and Dr. Fritz Barnes

In 1991, he graduated summa cum laude with a BS in Computer Science from West Virginia University in Morgantown, West Virginia. Jeff completed the undergraduate degree in three years and was a WVU Honors Student. As an undergraduate, he made the Dean's list every semester and was named a WVU Arts and Sciences Scholar in 1990 and 1991 (1 of 25 students from over 3,000). In 1993, he received an MS in Computer Science (also from WVU). His MS advisor was Dr. Murali Sitaraman and his thesis committee members were Dr. Frances Van Scoy and Dr. Doug Harms.

Jeff graduated high school in 1988 from the Linsly School (founded in 1814), in Wheeling, West Virginia. He was a member of the last all-male graduating class before the school went coed. His research mentors at Linsly were Dr. Garth Innocenti and Mr. Mike Chokel. At Union Junior High School, Mr. James Asplund and Mr. Emil Nardone gave Jeff his first opportunity to explore the joys of computing.

Other additional information about Jeff is available here.

Current/Previous Funding

Below is a summary of external awards over $5k on which I serve(d) as PI or co-PI (approximately $18M combined across all awards).

Active Awards:

Previous Awards:

Committees and Editorships

Below is a list of conferences in which I serve as organizer or program committee member in the upcoming year. A more detailed list of these events, as well as an archive of past events, is available here.


I currently serve as Editor in Chief of Software and Systems Modeling, a Springer journal.



Current Doctoral Students

Moumita Tabassum


Ziliang Zhang


Herart Nurue


Previous Doctoral Students

Dr. Yuehua Lin

(Summer 2007)

Dr. Hui Wu

(Fall 2007)

Dr. Suman Roychoudhury
(Summer 2008)

Dr. Jing Zhang

(Spring 2009)

Dr. Robert Tairas

(Summer 2010)


Dr. Yu Sun
(Fall 2011)

  Dr. Ferosh Jacob
(Spring 2013)

Dr. Hyun Cho
(Spring 2013)

Dr. Songqing Yue
(Summer 2015)

Dr. Amber Wagner
(Summer 2015)

Dr. Brian Eddy (Summer 2015)

Dr. Jonathan Corley
(Summer 2016)

Dr. Huseyin Ergin
(Spring 2017)

Dr. Elizabeth Williams
(Spring 2017)

Dr. Saheed Popoola
(Summer 2021)

Dr. Xin Zhao
(Summer 2021)


Previous Postdocs

Dr. Frédéric Jouault
(Univ. Nantes/INRIA)

Dr. J. Eduardo Rivera
(Universidad de Malaga)

Dr. Romain Delamare


Previous Fulbright Student

Dr. Tomaž Lukman
(Jozef Stefan Institute, Slovenia) (2009-2010)